
Alvarez Penalty Controversy – Ever watched a football match where one moment changes everything? That happened in the Champions League showdown between Atletico Madrid and Real Madrid on March 12, 2025. Julian Alvarez’s disallowed penalty has become the talk of the town, with fans and experts debating if the decision was right or just plain harsh.
What Actually Happened with the Alvarez Penalty?
So what exactly went down at the Metropolitano Stadium? Atletico had forced a penalty shootout after winning the second leg 1-0, leveling the aggregate score at 2-2 (after losing the first leg 2-1). When Julian Alvarez stepped up for Atletico’s second penalty, things got messy. He slipped during his run-up and appeared to touch the ball twice – first with his left foot as he stumbled, then with his right foot for the actual shot.
The ball went in, but referee Szymon Marciniak checked the VAR and disallowed it. Why? According to The FA’s Laws of the Game, a player can’t touch the ball again after kicking it until another player touches it. Seems simple enough, but is it really that black and white?
Was the Decision For The Alvarez Penalty Actually Correct?
You might be wondering if the ref made the right call. Truth is, technically speaking, he did. The double-touch rule has been around since 1892, and we’ve seen similar situations before. Remember Aleksandar Mitrovic’s disallowed penalty against Newcastle back in January 2025? Same deal.
But here’s where it gets wild—sensors in the match ball, not widely discussed before the game, confirmed that Alvarez touched it twice! This unexpected tech intervention sealed Alvarez’s fate and Atletico’s Champions League journey.
How Did Both Teams React?
Atletico’s manager Diego Simeone was frustrated, insisting “The ball doesn’t move” in his post-match comments, questioning the VAR’s call. Conversely, Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois defended the decision, noting that Atletico “always cry about things like this.”
Fans on social media were split too. Some felt it was too harsh since Alvarez slipped accidentally, with comments like “How does he not get to retake that? It was a slip!” trending under #AlvarezPenalty. Others pointed to the rulebook, saying rules are rules. Either way, Antonio Rudiger’s final kick sealed Real Madrid’s 4-2 victory in the shootout.
What’s Next for Both Teams?
For Real Madrid, it’s onwards and upwards as they advance to face Arsenal in the quarterfinals. As defending champions, they’ll fancy their chances of going all the way again.
Atletico, meanwhile, will need to lick their wounds and focus on La Liga. It’s a bitter pill to swallow, especially when such a small moment – literally a slip – cost them their European dreams.
Was it fair? Was it harsh? Whatever your take, one thing’s certain – just like in sports betting, the smallest details can make the biggest difference in football. Let us know your thoughts in the comments!